Made in His Image

DMIHI-000

Genesis 1:26

Then God said, “Let us make mankind in our image, in our likeness, so that they may rule over the fish in the sea and the birds in the sky, over the livestock and all the wild animals, and over all the creatures that move along the ground.”

This may not be super deep, but God gave me a picture of sorts, to answer a simple question I asked sitting in church on a recent Sunday. This scripture was read during the message and it got me thinking, so I asked the question, “God, if we’re all made in Your image, how is that possible when we’re all so vastly different, color, race, all of it?” There are obvious answers, He IS God after all, but that’s not what I was asking…keep reading.

I’ve heard that scripture my whole life, the one from Genesis… “…Let us make mankind in our image…” When you read something over and over, the meaning can get muddled or overlooked, and it did for me, that is until now.

Yes, we are all created, whether we acknowledge our Creator or not makes no difference, we are His masterpiece, each unique and completely special. But what happened before we were ‘created?’ Ever think about that one?

The Secret Place

Psalms 139: 14-16

For you created my inmost being; you knit me together in my mother’s womb. I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; your works are wonderful, I know that full well. My frame was not hidden from you when I was made in the secret place, when I was woven together in the depths of the earth. Your eyes saw my unformed body; all the days ordained for me were written in your book before one of them came to be.

So where IS this Secret Place?Creation-of-light-create-the-reality-36860834-570-336

My mind began to ponder, God is so beyond my finite mind. He is and always was…He’s so vast, no beginning or ending. In John 4:24 it says that “God is Spirit…” That Spirit is full of creative power constantly flowing like pulsating  rays of light. Whether creating new day, a new flower, or a new life, the Creator never stops, ever.

That’s where we truly began, within the Spirit of God Himself, also known as the Secret Place.  Where else would the Secret Place be, right? Each life begins with a thought like a flash of light, and from that thought a spirit is created, in His likeness and full of every exacting detail and DNA of  who we will become, yet we are not finished.  “Your eyes saw my unformed body…”

In His perfect timing and with skillful hands, the Creator takes our spirit, the essence of who we are…yet unformed, and wonderfully weaves us together with our frame at conception, when our earthly LIFE begins, gender, hair, skin, eye color…all the details of who we are fully intact and ready to grow. Complete.  Perfect.

In answering, He also took me to the beginning.

Where are you?

A perfect Spirit to spirit connection can be seen in the creation of man, Adam, the way God meant it to be, completely perfect. A fellowship, a union of God Almighty and man, walking, talking, naming, enjoying communion. It was good.

Good that is, until with one act of disobedience the perfection was broken, severing the connection. God knew it. Adam knew it; his spirit had died.  He was naked, afraid and hiding. Never before had he felt this way. The sadness that surrounded him was overwhelming, heavy and thick.

He hears God, walking through the garden in the cool of the afternoon, asking the question that shoots to his core, “Where are you?

Do you think God didn’t know where Adam was, hiding, naked and afraid? No. God was not asking because he didn’t see him or couldn’t find him, He was asking so that Adam would fully understand what had just happened.

“Where is your spirit Adam? You’re no longer within Me!  Adam knew. God’s Spirit was gone. Separation. Brokenness. Emptiness.

Adam, created in the image and likeness of God, began just like us, at the hand of our Creator. Thank God He had a plan already in place through His Son to restore Adam’s brokenness.  Now with confidence we can know that the Spirit of God again lives within us, and we can worship our Creator “…in spirit and in truth.”

Out there?

Some may think my meanderings are a bit of a stretch, that my imagination ran out a bit too far, but I did ask and I did hear what He was saying to me. After all, God created my imagination and He likes it when I use it for His glory.

I may be out there, but one thing I do know for sure, I am in Him, He is in me, and He has always known who I would be.

Made in His Image

Leave a Reply

