IMPENETRABLE

Psalms 28:7 AMP

The Lord is my strength and my impenetrable shield, my heart trusts in, relies on and confidentially leans on Him and I am helped; therefore my heart greatly rejoices and with my song I will praise Him.

This particular Psalm has been overwhelmingly special during what I’ve come to call the ‘adventure,’ aka my life right now (see CHANGE!).  So much so that without realizing it, I chose this exact Psalm, chapter and verse, to meditate on twice for a class assignment at church. It’s a class on worship, though not specific to music or vocal abilities, but more about what’s in the heart of a worshipper. Week by week our assignment is to dig into a Psalm, meditating for the week on just one verse, going deep, journaling our thoughts and sharing with the class. The point is to choose different verses each week…well that clearly didn’t happen with this one. So as my ‘final’ – I submit to you my thoughts, musings, insight and conversation with God. I pray it encourages you like it did me.

warrior_panorama2

Strength

The Lord is my Strength…”

David uses a word to describe this Strength – it’s found in verse 8, it’s the word “UNYIELDING.” Unyielding Strength, so powerful together… The Lord IS unyielding strength – can’t have one without the other and I am infused with it like a breath of fresh air.

Ever been driving up to the mountains leaving the valley behind and along with it the cloudy, hazy, dirty air? You reach that spot where the landscape changes, trees turn into pines and the sky seems bluer, the clouds whiter. You crack open the window and take that first deep breath…lungs filling with the best smell ever…fresh, clear, crisp piney scented air. It’s that air that washes away the fogginess of the valley life. Your vision clears and excitement flows. Its strength like that – fresh, makes your blood flow, tingling all the way to your toes, pulsating kind of strength.

Unyielding means “unlikely to be swayed; resolute” and although my idea of air isn’t necessarily unyielding, resolute or firm, when I envision myself filled with this unyielding strength, I can feel the blood pulsating with the flowing freshness of who He is. It may not connect to you that way, but it’s perfectly clear to me. *smile*

Shield

“…and my impenetrable shield…”

That word IMPENETRABLE just seems to capture my heart more than anything else in that scripture. Truthfully, it yelled at me.  It has such a strong ‘don’t mess with me’ ring to it, doesn’t it?

Impenetrable means “impossible to pass through or enter.”  It reminds me of something heavy like a weight. Why, you may ask? Well, I’m taking a weight lifting class right now…trying to get stronger…trying being the operative word. These weakling muscles aren’t happy with me at the moment.  AND side note…weight lifting seems to be a bit futile at the moment. I’m not seeing much difference YET, but I’m told to keep going…I will get stronger…little by little…it just takes time…yada, yada, yada. Ya, well, to all those weight lifters out there, I will just believe this one by faith…

So back to idea of a weight, each one is a different size and shape, thin or thick, light or “I can’t even lift it” heavy, but the common element in each is that word IMPENETRABLE.  Nothing gets through that heavy metal exterior.  That’s the kind of shield we have. The Lord is our Impenetrable shield of protection, of faith, whether in battle or at rest, we are safe; nothing gets through to the heart.

When I picture lifting up that kind of shield with my weak muscles…I have to remind myself that it’s not me, it’s the Lord who has unlimited strength and again, it’s HE that lifts the shield as I rest in Him. Faith is knowing that from the moment I pick it up, GOD’S STRENGTH floods mine like a bolt of lightning and I’m wonder woman again, able to lift and hold it high against the arrows trying to invade my space… Do you see them; all those arrows bouncing off right and left, dropping like flies at my feet?

Truthfully through, some of those arrows are coming from my very own soul. That shield of faith lifted high helps me fight against the influences to doubt and fear. That duo trips me up more than most anything the enemy can send my way. By trusting the hand that holds the shield, I am helped.

Confidence

“…my heart trusts in, relies on and confidentially leans on Him.”

Confidence means “the feeling or belief that one can rely on someone or something; firm trust.” I do lean on and trust this unyielding and impenetrable strength that is my Lord. It’s like leaning against a brick wall. It’s firm and immovable and can be trusted to hold you up. I am confident that He is the strength in my weakness and I CAN lean on that truth every minute.

I am safe. I am strong. I am invincible.

Rejoicing

Therefore my heart greatly rejoices…”

Does this even need any more elaboration God?  My heart is in a state of rejoicing because I am shielded by You, impenetrable by the salvation You’ve given, what can man do to me??? I walk in Your strength, strong and immovable. I have my days, only YOU know how many those are, but I am still here, still singing, still loving, still praising with an abandon that may look foolish in mans eyes, but is beloved in Yours.

Last, but certainly not least…

My Song

“…and with my song will I praise him.

We all have a song buried deep in us, in our spirits. Did you know? It’s built into our DNA at creation. When the spirit awakes at salvation, the song is released ready to give back to God the exquisite praise due Him – the everlasting thankfulness for a soul rescued and alive with hope. We are ALL created to be worshippers.

Some forget though. They forget that song even after the salvation they’ve received so freely. It’s choked out by the troubles of this life, never to see the light of day. Others let it out rarely and only when extreme emotion pushes it out. BUT there are some of us that can’t hold it in. We let it out at all times because it’s how we’re wired. The song must come out no matter what life brings good or bad, troubles or triumphs, that song can’t be held back.

Remember the phrase made famous by Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., “I have a dream…?” Well, “I have a song,” and I want it said of me that “she had a song in her that couldn’t be stopped,” because He is good and deserves praise, deserves my song…at all times!

“All of my life

In every season

YOU ARE STILL GOD

I have a reason to sing

I have a reason to worship

I will bring praise I will bring praise

No weapon formed against me shall remain

I will rejoice I will declare

God is my victory and He is here…”

~Desert Song by Hillsong

 

Leave a Reply

