Picture This!

Does trying to understand the relationship workings of the Trinity boggle your mind like it does mine? Trying to understand the Father, the Son, and the Holy Spirit together as “One” is a concept I have always known as truth, but accept by faith. I want to understand, but it’s a spiritual concept not a mental one, so my spirit knows and accepts what I can’t quite wrap my brain around.

Thankfully God understands the human struggle, but the truth is HE WANTS TO BE KNOWN, plain and simple.  He invites the interaction, wants the relationship, the conversation, so we are in agreement because I’m all about the journey to knowing Him MORE. I get a little lost along the way, but He always guides me back to the right path. He understands me, truly. *

And nothing is hidden from Your sight

Wherever I go, You find me

And You know every detail of my life

And You are God and You don’t miss a thing

§

The Picture

Knowing how my mind works, God gave me a gift a few years back, a glimpse into this concept of the Trinity, the Godhead working together, each fulfilling a place. More than words, pictures speak to me…very loudly. I’m not going into a great theological discourse on THE .TRINITY (eco, eco, eco)…you’ll see. It begins in Exodus 17:8 with Moses, the Amalekites, and a battle.

The Amalekites came and attacked the Israelites at Rephidim. Moses said to Joshua, “Choose some of our men and go out to fight the Amalekites. Tomorrow I will stand on top of the hill with the rod of God in my hands. 

So Joshua fought the Amalekites as Moses had ordered, and Moses, Aaron and Hur went to the top of the hill. As long as Moses held up his hands, the Israelites were winning, but whenever he lowered his hands, the Amalekites were winning. When Moses’ hands grew tired, they took a stone and put it under him and he sat on it. Aaron and Hur held his hands up—one on one side, one on the other—so that his hands remained steady till sunset. So Joshua overcame the Amalekite army with the sword.

It’s obvious that God is fighting this battle for Joshua and as usual, He uses unusual ways to do His bidding, i.e. Moses lifting his hands. I love that part…it’s like surrendering in worship!

The picture began with a question… “Can you see Me in this?” He meant other than the obvious, of course.  “Well God…let me read this again.” I did, but this time with my spiritual eyes asking… “Show me God.” 

The rod of God

 …Tomorrow I will stand on top of the hill with the rod of God in my hands…”

After fleeing Egypt, Moses became a shepherd, tending sheep for his father-in-law. When God met him at the burning bush, Moses had a rod in his hand…

Exodus 4:2-5 (AMP) 

And the Lord said to him, What is that in your hand? And he said, A rod. And He said, Cast it on the ground. And he did so and it became a serpent [the symbol of royal and divine power worn on the crown of the Pharaohs]; and Moses fled from before it. 

And the Lord said to Moses, Put forth your hand and take it by the tail. And he stretched out his hand and caught it, and it became a rod in his hand, [This you shall do, said the Lord] that the elders may believe that the Lord, the God of their fathers, of Abraham, of Isaac, and of Jacob, has indeed appeared to you. 

Hmmm…I did a bit of study on the “rod” in a shepherd’s hand…it’s a powerful thing. Each shepherd selects his own rod – cutting the sapling and carefully carving it so that it fits his hand completely. It’s used as a tool of protection, a weapon against attackers, and to bring discipline to the sheep, if needed. It’s a symbol of strength, power, and authority.

That same rod was in the hand of Moses when, at God’s command, he confronted that stubborn Pharaoh to “Let God’s People Go!”  You know the story; Pharaoh wouldn’t budge so God unleashed His awesome power. That rod turned into a snake, struck the Nile and turned it to blood; was lifted up as the red sea parted, struck the rock and water flowed.

I could go on…but you get the gist. That “rod of God” is power – God the Father’s power in the hands of his devoted servant, the power over circumstances – i.e. power to battle the Amalekites and WIN!

YES, I see YOU God.  “Keep going…”

The Stone

When Moses’ hands grew tired, they took a stone and put it under him and he sat on it…

HA! Jesus…I see YOU!  You are the STONE!

1 Peter 2:4-6 

As you come to him, the living Stone—rejected by humans but chosen by God and precious to him— you also, like living stones, are being built into a spiritual house to be a holy priesthood, offering spiritual sacrifices acceptable to God through Jesus Christ. For in Scripture it says: “See, I lay a stone in Zion, a chosen and precious cornerstone, and the one who trusts in him will never be put to shame.” 

On Christ the Solid “RockI stand, yes how perfect for these men to choose a Stone, to give Moses a place to rest. In Matthew 11:28 it says, “Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest.” You became the place of rest, the firm, solid foundation of strength for Moses to fulfill his assignment. Bravo! 

This is good God! “Keep going…”

The Spirit 

Aaron and Hur held his hands up—one on one side, one on the other—so that his hands remained steady till sunset.

Okay, I’m having one of those ‘A-HA’ moments with this one. The Spirit of God (aka Holy Spirit) – among SO many attributes – comforts, strengthens, and HELPS us! Romans 8:26 says: 

In the same way, the Spirit helps us in our weakness. We do not know what we ought to pray for, but the Spirit himself intercedes for us with groans that words cannot express. 

I see it! You used Aaron and Hur as helpers, to hold up the failing arms of Moses. What comfort that must have been for him! He could do this, finish what God commanded…and bring in the VICTORY for Joshua, for God and His people! 

Father, Son and Holy Spirit

I could so Picture This, sitting in church that Sunday morning. “I see You God!” with tears of excitement in my eyes. Don’t remember a lick of the sermon that day (*smirk*), but this simple-hearted girl saw that Picture…and was covered by an immense sense of hope and understanding of God I’d never had before.  

You hung the stars

You move the sea

And still You know

me

§

Victory O Lord! by J.E. Millais

Victory O Lord! by J.E. Millais

Picture: Moses holding his staff at the Battle of Rephidim 
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Victory_O_Lord!

* Song words by Steffany Frizzell Gretzinger, Bethel Music

Leave a Reply

