Guest Blogger!!!

This isn’t something I usually do, but just have to shout out and share the wonderful story of my husband’s sports art… He recently wrote a short blog update on the journey, so here goes!

Posey!

Mike painting Buster Posey

I started marketing my art as a sign writer for commercial strips. A&A Builders Supply off 65th was my first gig. I painted “carpet sales” on the windows every time they had a sale. Thanks Tony Gonzales for the work. I owned a Schwinn Varsity ten speed with a rack…11 miles away from home. As soon as I got my vehicle, a 58 Chevy panel, I went big leagues and started painting signs and murals. Most of the Northern California skating rinks became my canvas. My first mural was in Cal Skate in Sacramento, then onto Roseville Roller King where I painted the mural, signs and graphics. The best gig was West Sac Speedway where I lettered race cars for about 5 race teams for about $500 per car, cash. The work was “sustainable” because the guys crashed them on the weekend…

Click —> HERE to read the “rest of the story.”

Tim Lincecum 2010 World Series

Tim Lincecum 2010 World Series

Buster Posey 2012 World Series

Buster Posey 2012 World Series

Sergio Romo 2012 World Series

Sergio Romo 2012 World Series

Madison Bumgarner 2014 World Series

Madison Bumgarner 2014 World Series

…and more to come!  If you are interested in originals or prints of these awesome paintings, check out Mike’s store:

Mike Tate Studio

Leave a Reply

