Pain speaks…

The human spirit will not even begin to try to surrender self-will as long as all seems to be well with it… But pain insists upon being attended to. God whispers to us in our pleasures, speaks in our conscience, but shouts in our pain: it is His megaphone to rouse a deaf world.” — C.S. Lewis

This quote jumped out at me like that “megaphone” because of how true it is. It was for me, at least. I’ve been deaf before, totally ignoring pain until it yelled loud enough and woke me from my deafness saying DEAL WITH ME.

It’s kinda like how you can be driving along and all of a sudden come to a stoplight and realize your mind had completely tuned out and you can’t remember how you got there?  Scary actually.

Pain is a wake up call that you can’t tune out. No matter what kind, physical or emotional, it can’t be ignored for long or suffering results.

I’ve come to the end of my “self-will” two major times; one spiritual and one physical. I’m not going to re-write what’s been written before, but this truth about God shouting in our pain just tugged at me. I’m seeing my story from another vantage point and the view is eye opening. I never realized that pain could be God yelling with His “LET ME HELP YOU OUT OF YOUR MESS” kind of LOVE just waiting for me to let Him do it and free me from it.

Wandering

To be deaf to the voice of God leaves one to wander through life, stopping here and there, but never really getting to a destination. A spot-on Biblical example of wandering around in circles is, of course, the Children of Israel.  God made it so very clear to them where they were headed…the promised land for goodness sake, a land flowing with milk and honey! Although He spoke very loudly (i.e. cloud by day, pillar by night), provided for their needs (i.e. manna to eat, water from a rock, clothing that didn’t wear out, etc.) saved them from Pharaoh’s army and slavery in Egypt (i.e. sent all those plagues and parted the Red Sea!) YET their complaints made them deaf to God’s help and plan.  Thus they wandered in circles for 40 years and all but two never made it to their destination…that promised land!

No More Circles

God, help me to stop at your whispers and not turn a deaf ear until it’s pain that has to speak. Let my choices be to listen and act so that I come to my destination, an overcoming place, and not wander in circles. I’ve been there – done that far too many times.  Even today my choice led to some physical pain, a choice to feed my face too much of the wrong thing and I’m paying the price in pain right now. I turned a deaf ear to your voice. Fail…

I may be feeling the effects of my choice at the moment, but God is a Good God and He doesn’t condemn… Romans 8 says very clearly “Therefore, there is now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus…”  Thank God for that!

So then…ummm, this too shall “pass” and I’ll feel better…soon.

In the mean time, this girl is hanging a left and headed…in a very straight line.

Follow the Yellow Brick Road!

2 thoughts on “Pain speaks…

  1. Hey Friend, Enjoyed reading your blog. Isn’t it interesting that God was the one that was leading them to wander in the desert for those 40 years. They moved when he moved. My wonder is if he was waiting for the older ones to die off because they wanted to go back to captivity (desires of the flesh, even if it meant staying in slavery). I wonder if he was hoping to teach a couple of younger generations that they could trust Him to meet all of their needs (body, soul and spirit) and satisfy their desires, before they would be planted in a land flowing with milk and honey (abundance),
    Once they arrive and they took the land promised them, it only took something like 54 years for idols to seduce God’s people back into captivity to their desires for stuff over their love for God. I wonder if the lesson to be learned is that the desert living is better than “dessert” living (lusts of the flesh), this world is not my home, I am a stranger in a strange land. The real promise land is Him and him alone. Love you and miss talking with you about the things of God. He is too wonderful to be comprehended.

    • A! Absolutely yes…they did wander due to their own desires to go back. In Numbers 32:11-13…

      11 ‘Because they have not followed me wholeheartedly, not one of those who were twenty years old or more when they came up out of Egypt will see the land I promised on oath to Abraham, Isaac and Jacob— 12 not one except Caleb son of Jephunneh the Kenizzite and Joshua son of Nun, for they followed the Lord wholeheartedly.’ 13 The Lord’s anger burned against Israel and he made them wander in the wilderness forty years, until the whole generation of those who had done evil in his sight was gone.

      The old generation never got it, even with all the signs and care from God. They had slavery to ingrained in them and couldn’t get free of it.

      We had Tommy Tenny at church recently and he had the most amazing thoughts about the “giants” in land. The message was about Joshua and his bravery. Get this… What if those giants were actually warring angels sent ahead by God some 40 years earlier just waiting to fight FOR them. The Israelites didn’t see them as such, but were afraid of them. Who said angels are like men…they could be seen as giant warriors!

      That thought blew my mind. 🙂

      Love you!

Leave a Reply

