Skinny & Fearless…thoughts on regret

Skinny & Fearless wasn’t my idea…that’s what my husband called me the other day.  He said I used to be the opposite. Although he didn’t use the words “fat and afraid,” it’s true, I was…but that was before. So what does this have to do with regret?

Stuck!

Regret springs up at the most inopportune times and tries to knock the wind out of my sails just a bit. It’s a sneaky trick of the enemy. As much as I’m thankful for the progress I’ve made in the past four years, I find myself getting stuck with regret from time to time.  Not down in a pit, mind you, but stuck none the less.

Why? For wasting so much of my God-Given life in a cycle of defeat and well, I’ll just say it…death! BOO! The visible scars are big reminders of the damage I put my body through. Not to be a downer, but the past is the past and cannot be changed.  The wound heals, but the outside scar remains.

We are given a very precious gift in our bodies; all those internal systems crafted beautifully and miraculously by God our creator to run like well oiled machines…chugga chugga chugga, rolling along processing what we give it, cleansing it, keeping all the good stuff for our sustenance and then nicely getting rid of the rest. Our bodies are miracles. Not to get all scientific’y’ on you, but we really truly are “beautifully and wonderfully” made.  As it says in Psalms 139:

13 For you created my inmost being;
    you knit me together in my mother’s womb.
14 I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made;
    your works are wonderful, I know that full well.
15 My frame was not hidden from you
    when I was made in the secret place,
    when I was woven together in the depths of the earth.

I’ve been studying so much about how the body functions and how these internal beautifully and wonderfully made systems can heal themselves when given what they need – good food, fresh air, sleep, movement…and some tender loving care!  God created this secret “reset” button inside so that we CAN get better, every day, with every bite. I like that word CAN!

I CAN do ALL things!

What God HAS given me through this process of learning is a gratefulness and wonder for His creation. Our bodies are made in His image, the result of His handiwork. I’m grateful that although scars are forever (umm they’re rather saggy & baggy to be honest), we can reverse that internal damage.  There are people who have reversed diabetes, heart disease, even cancer, all with a change – sometimes a drastic change – in what they eat.

If I could, I’d beg you that are younger creations of God to take care of what He has given you WHILE you’re young.  Nourish your body with good things.  You’ll be so thankful and strong and won’t have to regain what you have been given. You’ll have it, still.

So back to regret.  It doesn’t last long once I pull up my big girl panties and get on with it. It’s nothing a little well-concealed clothing will hide anyway. 🙂 Truth be told, I did miss out on a lot of my life because of my own choices, but God has redeemed so much, it then becomes a “remembering what He has done” and I’m content, again.

Oh and just a bit of an update, since my whole weight loss journey has been out there, I’m down another 12 lbs! As of today – 152!  WooHoo! Confession though…had a bit of a blip during the last few months gaining to 174 ARG!  So actually, with this go around, I had to re-lose 12 lbs AND then release 10 more on top, so 22 total. *Whew* Not fun and I don’t want to do that again!

So skinny & fearless…? Ya, I’ll take that. I’m not afraid of taking on myself because now I know who wins.
I'm Fearless!
2 thoughts on “Skinny & Fearless…thoughts on regret

Leave a Reply

