Believing a Lie?

It’s been quiet lately, meaning no significant instructions from God.  It’s got me wondering, quite frankly.  Does this mean He’s not speaking or is it that I’m just not listening?

Still ruminating on that one…

I’ve been listening to some amazing messages from the Bethel Redding’s “Lovely” women’s conference. Downloaded all the messages, a gift from my wonderful hubby, and so far each one has been, well… A–MAZING!  This included the worship sets…so you know, if you know me at all, that my heart is full and happy!

Probably the most impacting nugget I heard – one of many threaded throughout the entire conference – was about the lies we believe. When we believe a lie the enemy plants in our minds, it not only becomes a false truth, it brings death.  Not death in ending a life, but causing the gifts and abilities God has planted in us to be buried so deep we believe they’re dead. The lie causes our faith in God to die, destroying our trust and belief in God’s destiny for our lives.  It’s a sure fire trap, pit, road block, brick wall – whatever analogy you prefer – it keeps you stuck.  Even keeps the words from flowing… That one hurt!

I am and continue to be tired of being stuck in areas of my life. Hearing these ladies bring the Word brought fresh insight into the ‘why’ of being stuck – or maybe just not hearing correctly?? Hmmm.  Also reminded me some very critical tools to actively destroy, defeat, disarm, demolish…all these pretty “d” words to effectively KILL the enemy’s work .

I’m not…(fill in the blank)

What lies have you believed? You’re not good enough? If they only knew what you did way back then, they wouldn’t like you? God doesn’t love you? You don’t have any gifts? You’re not worthy for God to use you? OR in my case lately, God isn’t talking! LIE!

Here’s the thing, a lie can be defeated. I’ve actually done it before so you’d think I could recognize when the enemy is speaking one! That record will keep repeating over and over until I stop it, and the only way to stop it is to replace it with truth. Not just any truth, but the WORD OF GOD kind of truth.

The Tool

Here’s the practical tool to win over the lie with truth:

#1: Write down EVERY lie the enemy would have you believe about yourself.  This may take a few pages, but write them ALL down. Take time in this and if you remember one later, go back and write it down. Ask God to reveal them one by one.

#2: For each lie, dig out the truth from the Word to refute that lie.

An example from my life – early on in my journey I had a hard time feeling God’s presence and so I believed God wasn’t there. The truth from the Word was found in Hebrews 13:5  For He Himself has said, “I will never leave you nor forsake you.”  It took a while, but I kept saying that over and over when I was depending on how I felt vs. what I knew as truth.  Now I have no doubt of His presence, feelings or not.

#3: Read the Word to refute each lie every day, praying that scripture over and over. It works, guaranteed!

The enemy would love to keep our minds bound up in those lies. Don’t let him win! Remember this – YOU HAVE THE MIND OF CHRIST if you are a child of God.

So, guess what I’m preparing to do?  Yep – even though I’ve battled against lies before, I haven’t done it to this extent nor to all of them.  In fact, I hadn’t even asked God myself to reveal all of them.  So what’s the first one? God isn’t speaking…THAT IS A LIE! What’s the truth? God is always speaking…His Word is “alive and active…”

Isaiah 55:9-11 says:

“As the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways and my thoughts than your thoughts. As the rain and the snow come down from heaven, and do not return to it without watering the earth and making it bud and flourish, so that it yields seed for the sower and bread for the eater, so is my word that goes out from my mouth: It will not return to me empty, but will accomplish what I desire and achieve the purpose for which I sent it.

So here goes… Work it girl!

TRUTH!

Leave a Reply

