My little sis…

Update June 23, 2015!

It’s another year and another birthday for my only sister. I’m taking another journey down memory lane and updating this post just a wee bit BECAUSE… My sister is now an official Ordained Minister!  I thought that was so cool – she was one of a handful of long time women in ministry that have FINALLY been Ordained, and a long time coming too. Among other eventful things, she also took a ministry trip to India all by herself! Can you say BRAVE? Anywho…I’m not rewriting this post, just updating and adding a note and a few pictures.  Why? Because I think my sis is a pretty awesome. Next year…it’s “Grandma Karen!”

ORDAINED!

ORDAINED!

Missions trip to India

Missions trip to India

Leo Love

Leo Love

Warrior Woman!

Warrior Woman!

Grandma Karen!

Grandma Karen!

 

 

Original post June 23, 2013

Today is my sister’s birthday.  My only sister.  She’s a pretty cool chick and I love her a…lot.  It’s been my pleasure to write a bit about my mom and most recently my dad, so I thought I’d share two “letters” I wrote to her on past birthdays.  The first one was while she was in Grand Rapids and the other from last year… They show the time we were both in and I couldn’t say it better.  Enjoy~

My sis...Karen!

My sis…Karen!

June 2004

My Dearest Sis…

What can’t I say about you, my precious “little” sister??  You’ve been such an example to me of what a Godly woman should be in every aspect of your life.  You’ve grown into the beautiful women I see before me…but only I have been so blessed to be able to watch you truly “grow up” from a skinny little kid sister who loved to wear Mickey Mouse t-shirts and jeans to the accomplished woman, worshipper, teacher, and preacher who so capably filled the pulpit speaking out the Godly message that I KNOW you live out daily – all without skipping a beat.

Your courage to leave behind what you helped birth, knew so well and LOVED so dearly to follow the leading of the Lord is inspiring to me and shows the determination you have to do exactly what God requires and wait for your heart to catch up.  I so admire that in you.  It took a lot for me to give you up (only you know how much), but I’ve come to trust the sovereign hand of God in this move as I’ve seen the abundant fruit of your obedience to Him.  I still miss you terribly.

Joslyn's Bridal ShowerYou are first and foremost a worshipper of the Lord, an awesome mom, a wonderful, devoted sister, a faithful daughter, and a wife to Scott, who, in my humble opinion, could NEVER have done what God called him to do without you, but I am just a bit partial!!!  You’re a loyal friend, mentor and example to all those who love you here in California – as well as those who have come to love you there in Grand Rapids.

I could go on and on and on …but I’ll stop now… Is your face red yet???  *smile*   Have a WONDERFUL HAPPY BIRTHDAY party and I hope they are spoiling you rotten!!

Your devoted sis AND biggest fan,

Me

Preacher!

Preach it girl!

June 2012

(Note – I deleted the first part – it was a bit of the previous letter…you’ll get it…)

My Dearest Sis…

Okay, now for current stuff…

So much has happened since that time till now.  How can I thank God enough for bringing you back to CA, it was one of the best days. I still remember the call as I was driving (before it wasn’t allowed to talk in the phone) and you said those blessed words… “guess what…..” and my life in general was brighter and better and lovelier…all the “er” descriptor words you can think of, it was just complete now that my sis was coming back home.

Proud Mama!

Proud Mama!

Since then you have grown AGAIN into even more…A PREACHER WOMAN!!   I truly am your biggest fan – love to hear you preach the Word.  You’ve continued to push ahead to overcome the insecurities within yourself…one being RUNNING A MARATHON and other GETTING YOUR COLLEGE DEGREE!!  You charge head long into whatever you decide to do, with intention and tenacity.  Your personal “race” has inspired me along in my own race to the ‘mark’… it may be a different mark than yours, but we are both “running” a race together, each tackling those areas that have held us back – taking back ground the enemy has stolen.  I know mom would be proud of who we’ve become… *sniff*

I’ve used several of your most quotable moments along my journey…and a few still hit me between the eyes as I’ve reread them…  The most recent one was huge to me:

  • Until the pain of staying the same is greater than the pain of change…you won’t!”

You’ve taught me without even realizing it – as you probably have to others, just by how you act vs. re-act in any given situation, with your calm, cool, confident exterior.  Although I know you hide your insecurities well – God had given you grace and power to overcome them.  Especially giving away Joslyn showed me how strong you can be in a very wonderful yet difficult and heart wrenching event.

WIN! I did it!!

WIN! I did it!!

Several other more ‘quotables’ from your life that have impacted mine:

  • @Posture “I have the L.O.R.D. POWER OF GOD in my nature” posture to take
  • 1 GOD + 1 WEAKLING = ENOUGH
  • “God wants to open my eyes to my lack so that He can expose my heart to His touch.”
  • Focus on God’s MORE than on my LESS”
  • @ Gidian “Gidian was standing before the Lord, but couldn’t see because he was so lost in his circumstances – so deep in his lack that he couldn’t see the PLENTY right in front of him.”

I thank you for your “gumption” and your encouragement in my life.  Like I’ve said before, you’re the closest thing to my heart since mom has gone and doing life together is a priceless gift that God has enabled to make happen.

Love you always ~ Your “biggest” fan

me

Mom's resting place

June 23, 2013

This pretty much sums it up…my sister rocks.  I’m a blessed “big” sis. Karen Denise Coppinger Hagan, don’t ever stop reaching for the stars. God has a whole lot more “beyond all you can ask for or even think” stuff planned for you. Your “empty nest” years are just beginning. Go girl!

Again~ your ever devoted sis and BIGGEST fan,

me

Rock it girl!

Rock it girl!

P.S. Just a few pictures of my silly sister in action…in random order.  (sorry Karen, couldn’t resist!)

25140_321589894717_6552080_n 34261_402278021641_5874701_n 217389_1082790833015_9635_n 488059_10151429916404523_255650314_n 64618_3927240461292_567579053_n 527153_3619787335156_786700884_n 252203_3704322778496_1435420673_n 299509_1999695073862_78953716_n 155209_478930955797_4162801_n 198733_10150267834030798_2292660_n 249483_10150189337524523_7893684_n 181531_10150113882895102_5699353_n

The Hagan's 2011

The Hagan’s 2011

Family ~ 2013

Family ~ 2013

2 thoughts on “My little sis…

  1. Thanks for the lovely tribute to your little sis, Karen.  Please give Karen a happy birthday from Uncle John and Aunt Bonnie.  Love you both….BW

Leave a Reply

