got Peace?

John 14:27 AMP  Peace I leave with you; My [own] peace I now give and bequeath to you. Not as the world gives do I give to you. Do not let your hearts be troubled, neither let them be afraid. [Stop allowing yourselves to be agitated and disturbed; and do not permit yourselves to be fearful and intimidated and cowardly and unsettled.]

I was praying this morning…and in the midst of it God stopped me.  To be completely honest I was complaining, my spirit was agitated and peace was far away, it seemed. The only thing I was enjoying at that moment was my coffee…just being real.  He must have yelled to be heard over my complaining.  When I finally did stop He said, “I’m giving you peace right now, just RECEIVE it!” *Lightbulb*

(Takes me a bit, but I do get it if I stop long enough to listen…sigh.)

If I don’t stop complaining and receive the gift of peace He’s trying to give me, it’s POWER just stays in His open hand, waiting.  I have to receive it, taken it, apply it to my life or, and I love this word, APPROPRIATE it.  Appropriate means “to take exclusive possession of…” I take possession of the Peace He’s offering and *BAM* His power goes to work in my shrinking spirit.

I’m thankful.  I did.  He did.  All is well with my soul…for now.

Oh…did my circumstances change?  No, but my spirit did.  I finally saw God, and looking through Him my troubles didn’t seem so “all that.”

Phil 4:6-7 AMP Do not fret or have any anxiety about anything, but in every circumstance and in everything, by prayer and petition (definite requests), with thanksgiving, continue to make your wants known to God. And God’s PEACE [shall be yours, that tranquil state of a soul assured of its salvation through Christ, and so fearing nothing from God and being content with its earthly lot of whatever sort that is, that PEACE] which transcends all understanding shall garrison and mount guard over your hearts and minds in Christ Jesus.

got Peace?

Leave a Reply

