Trust God…even in the dark

Proverbs 3:5-6 AMP Lean on, trust in, and be confident in the Lord with all your heart and mind and do not rely on your own insight or understanding. In all your ways know, recognize, and acknowledge Him, and He will direct and make straight and plain your paths.

Have you ever had to trust God in a dark, no light showing at all, circumstance so opposite to what you’re praying for that is physically hurts to even try and believe God? When hope seems like a fantasy? Been there?

I’ve been chewing on this passage in Proverbs for a long time. It’s the bigger picture of trusting in God, period. Foundation. Trusting in God’s character vs. mine. God’s faithfulness vs. my failure. God’s ability vs. my dis-ability. God’s care vs. my worry.  God’s love vs. my fear.

When I began writing this post, just some beginning thoughts some months ago, I didn’t know where it was going to lead. It’s been sitting in the cue for a while now. I wasn’t ready. Then as I was reading in Jeremiah 17 recently there it was, the breath of God showing me where to go, but then ummmm wow – how honest do I have to be God? The circumstance could be anything, some mountains are bigger than others, but this one is a biggie for me, it’s trusting God with provision.  There, I said it.

Darkness

Every step along the way up the mountain seems dark. This particular mountain is just one of many I’ve climbed over my lifetime.  I’ve had victories in the climb to the top, but also failures where instead of climbing up – I’ve gone around and around in circles.  This is one of them.  I’m a bit dizzy and tired of taking that way!

Truth

The Word says in Col 3:2 AMP “And set your minds and KEEP them set on what is above (the higher things), not on the things that are on the earth.”  If I am walking out this “trust in God as my provider” even in the darkness, but deep down I still worry, then I’m not keeping my mind set on that truth. I’m not believing what the Word says; basically I’m fickle, like the man who doubted God, being double-minded.  Eye opening to say the least.

James 1:6-8 NIV “But when you ask, you must believe and not doubt, because the one who doubts is like a wave of the sea, blown and tossed by the wind. That person should not expect to receive anything from the Lord. Such a person is double-minded and unstable in all they do.”

Setting my mind is one thing, but keeping it set is an entirely different cookie.  I can believe in the moment of emotional excitement, mind charged after hearing a great message or reading something inspiring.  I’m floating on that cloud of belief, but when I come down to earth and face my reality, do I keep that mind “set?” Do I give or do I hold on because I’m afraid of lack?

Jeremiah’s thoughts “Man vs. God”

In Jeremiah 17:5-8 we see a great picture of this trusting in man vs. God battle. Let me show you and you choose whom to believe.

Trusting in Man:

-cursed

-depends on the flesh for strength

-turns away from the Lord (ouch!)

-no prosperity

-dryness

-parched and alone

5 This is what the Lord says: “Cursed is the one who trusts in man, who draws strength from mere flesh and whose heart turns away from the Lord. 6 That person will be like a bush in the wastelands; they will not see prosperity when it comes. They will dwell in the parched places of the desert, in a salt land where no one lives.”

Trusting in the Lord:

-Blessed

-Confident

-Does not fear

-Always watered

-Leaves always green

-No worries

-Always bears fruit no matter the season

7 “But blessed is the one who trusts in the Lord, whose confidence is in him. 8 They will be like a tree planted by the water that sends out its roots by the stream. It does not fear when heat comes; its leaves are always green. It has no worries in a year of drought and never fails to bear fruit.”

Hope – BELIEVE ANYWAY!

Preaching to myself here…

1. God has proved Himself faithful to provide time and time again, so many I can’t even count. Why would this be any different? Hope for Abraham – I remember – looked like this… Romans 4:18 MSG “When everything was hopeless, Abraham believed anyway, deciding to live not on the basis of what he saw he couldn’t do but on what God said he would do.”  

2. God is so much bigger than this mountain too! In fact, and I love this, even my darkness isn’t dark to Him! Psalms 139:11-12 MSG “Then I said to myself, “Oh, he even sees me in the dark! At night I’m immersed in the light!” It’s a fact: darkness isn’t dark to you; night and day, darkness and light, they’re all the same to you.”

It may seem dark to me, but God is light. He’s never in the dark. On this mountain I can’t see what’s ahead, but He can, so I keep going because He is leading this girl, and I’m bound and determined to follow.

I set my mind…He’s got this. I TRUST GOD!

TRUST GOD!

Leave a Reply

