Cracked Pot?

Over the holidays I did some digging through old stuff I’ve journaled – whatever God gave me at the time. Back then the nuggets were just for me…now with the blogosphere world we live in, I can share in hopes that it encourages someone else too.  Never did I think what I wrote down in the past would be something God would use for the future. Amazing.   But in reality it’s still revelation – still alive. In fact, this one blew me away…again!  It also challenged me…yet again. *sigh* Am I doing this? Am I taking His wisdom and applying it in my daily life? Maybe that’s why I had to go digging…He’s reminding me to JUST DO IT!  It’s short…with a few new tweeks…on His authority in my cracked pot.

His Authority

2 Corinthians 4:7-11 NIV

7 But we have THIS TREASURE in JARS OF CLAY to show that this all-surpassing power is from God and not from us. 8 We are hard pressed on every side, but not crushed; perplexed, but not in despair; 9persecuted, but not abandoned; struck down, but not destroyed. 10 We always carry around in our body the DEATH OF JESUS, so that the life of Jesus may also be revealed in our body11 For we who are alive are always being given over to death for Jesus’ sake, so that HIS LIFE MAY BE REVEALED in our mortal body.

O LORD, you are our Father. We are the clay, you are the potter; we are all the work of your hand.. Is 6:48

I love this scripture. Our authority in Christ is part of the Treasure! It’s our defense against the enemy, the foundation to stand upon. It was God’s intention for us to have His authority on the earth, to rule and reign and have everything – EVERYTHING – He created for us.  We all know that with the fall of Adam in the garden, we lost this authority, but God had a plan.  He ALWAYS has a plan…

As I was meditating on this scripture, God opened my eyes to show me that when we accept what Jesus did for us, as it says in verse 10, “we always carry around in our body the death of Jesus.”  What that meant to me is that we’re actually carrying the authority that He won back for us!  THAT is the resurrection life of Jesus being reveled within us – the working of His mighty powerResurrection power is no joke.

Cracked Pot?

One of the biggest mindsets I had to overcome in my spiritual journey was this…that because I’m like a clay pot full of cracks, fragile, easily broken and weak, I’m not fit to carry around this authority, this power.  That the words I speak don’t have God’s authority behind them.  THAT WAS WRONG THINKING.  I am fit because He made me fit.  Made US fit.

Because HE IS, we are!  On earth as it is in heaven!

I mean really…just meditate on that one amazing fact….but don’t stop there, go further.  This meditation should be more than just thinking on a thing. Meditation in the Hebrew culture was repeating a concept, a thought or a scripture – speaking it OUT LOUD.  The Word says: “I believed; therefore I have spoken.  With that same spirit of faith we also believe and therefore speak…” 2 Corinthians 4:13.

We carry THAT authority – HIS authority – that “all surpassing power” of the Holy Spirit, to SPEAK to circumstances what God says about a thing; about healing, deliverance, our problems, vs. what we see standing in our cracked pots.

To put it into real life…I will SPEAK what God says concerning my son, that HE WILL BE SAVED, HEALED AND WHOLE and I will not rely on what I currently see with my physical eyes! That’s a hard one for me to grasp and one I’m STILL working on.  Thus…why I’m yet again revisiting this nugget.

In the time of battle – in the midst of my circumstance – what I see is my own cracks (weaknesses, failings…). BUT, when I take my stand in Christ’s authority, what I should see is what God sees…Himself in me.

#don’tmesswithme!

Standing in His Authority

One thought on “Cracked Pot?

  1. Pingback: A Season of Redeeming | Simple Song of Joy

Leave a Reply

