Choose Life! ~My Journey Part 3

Deuteronomy 30:19-20 AMP 

“I call heaven and earth to witness this day against you that I have set before you life and death, the blessings and the curses; therefore CHOOSE LIFE that you and your descendants may live and may love the Lord your God, obey His voice, and cling to Him. For He is your LIFE and the length of your days… ”

All along my weight loss journey, there’s been both a spiritual foundation that has led to the physical action, so I shouldn’t be surprised that this Part 3 was coming.  Why? Well, I’ve been hearing “CHOOSE LIFE” over and over in my spirit, so I knew God was speaking which usually means “write it out girl!”  But choose life? That can be about so many things; what choices is He talking about?  Trying to figure it all out didn’t lead me anywhere except frustration.  I kept thinking all spiritual, coming from a devotional viewpoint, but God was being really practical with me, and I wasn’t getting it.  Took a while, but I finally had the “ah-ha” moment of realization “Oh, that’s what you mean huh?”  Well duh.

Interested?  Read on.

Life

If I could have a penny for all the choices I’ve made that didn’t lead to life, I’d be a gazillionaire…  At 52 it’s only been the last 3 ½ years that I’ve been pursing LIFE.  That’s what it’s been like to me – pursuing, at times walking, running, pushing, and A LOT of the time fighting, but all the time moving forward. It’s action – a verb.

BUT – the challenge has always been finding the next step – it’s the tricky part.  I don’t want to mess around taking rabbit trails  that are such a waste of time.   When my body doesn’t cooperate with me I keep pushing for something different.  This “ah-ha” moment wasn’t the next “diet” that I was going to try; God wanted me to start choosing – making strategic choices on foods that I eat for health.  The choice wasn’t because the food was low carb or high fat or had too much sugar, it was “if I eat this, will it bring me life or will it bring death, plain and simple.  How does it make me feel after I eat it and what does it do to my body.  Do I feel sick, sluggish, bloated, or energized, bright, clear headed?

Example.  Throughout my journey, I’ve realized that wheat causes me intestinal fits (yuck) and when I don’t eat it, all that  is gone.  So, do I choose to eat it and experience pain or do I choose not to eat it and feel SO MUCH better?  It may  not be a big deal for some who aren’t bread lovers, but I am.  I’ve chosen to find substitutes for toast so I don’t experience these physical manifestations of …. well let’s just say you wouldn’t want to be down wind. 🙂  Thus choose life in this case is No Wheat.

LIFE – it’s the freedom to feel good or not.  It’s not that I couldn’t eat “insert your favorite foodie,” goodness I’m not that legalistic, but if I do choose to eat it then I have to suffer the “death” consequences.  Ummm…like spending some significant time sitting on the toilet.

Talk about a mindset change!  God just loves to mess with my nice and tidy ordered little world…but my world needs some of His type of creative, mind blowing, life giving mess.  🙂   This now leads into my reality at the moment….

Nuts & Bolts

Okay already – so what does this mean in “shoe leather,” as my hubby says.  What choices am I working on now?  Well I’ve journeyed into the world of green – dark green leafy things that are filled with lots of good things for my internal health.  I’m talking about green smoothies.  I realized that I needed to get more greens, raw fruits and veggies into my body, and after doing LOTS of reading to find a way to get them into me, I found the easiest way was to drink them.

Enter my new toy – the NutriBullet.  This is NOT a commercial, any high powered blender will work, but I didn’t have one, so it is the way I decided to get those green leafy things into me the fastest and easiest.  Greens like spinach, kale, swiss chard, dark lettuce, and veggies like carrots, beets, etc., which are great, but eating a bowl full isn’t my idea of fun.  But, make them into a smoothie whole in their entirety with all the nutrients and fiber with fruit and I’m rather amazed at how good they taste.  It’s my way of being able to consume more of these foods than I ever would have just chewing them.  I haven’t yet seen the scale drop with these choices, but I’m trusting God on this one, since he’s the one that’s directing these feet.

Here’s and example of my new breakfast.  If I don’t have this for breakfast, I try to have at least one green smoothie a day.  I’m learning about ingredients to boost my health. (I’ve included some resource links at the end.)

What’s in this?  2 cups spinach, frozen banana chunks, ¼ cup frozen pineapple and dark cherries, ¼ raw red beet (thus the color) Boosts: Handful of almonds, 1 tbs. raw Cacao powder (yes chocolate…), 1 tsp Maca powder, 1 tbs Goji Berries, almond milk & coconut water 

Fight

Even as I write this, and it took me a while to finish this one because it was a battle – so that you know the truth, I want anyone who is reading this to understand that I STILL HAVE TO FIGHT HARD and I don’t win the battle all the time!  I have areas that are so hard to choose life – like exercise, for instance.  Some people love and are addicted to adrenalin   Me?  Not so much.  My preferred location is on couch watching to many old movies.  I fight eating too much, portions.  I find myself filling the plate too full and it kicks me in the fanny TOO many times.

John 10:10 AMP 

The thief comes only in order to steal and kill and destroy. I came that they may have and enjoy LIFE, and have it in abundance (to the full, till it overflows).

I want LIFE back – in abundance, being full of energy, my mind alert and strong vs. weak.  OVERFLOWING!! I want God’s highest and best. My journey continues and I will  fight for the return of my LIFE, all of it – to be a strong woman inside and out!  Life is too precious so I’m not giving up.  I’ll take another deep~cleansing breath, keep moving forward and CHOOSE LIFE!

P.S. Are you also in the fight?  Be encouraged to continue with me.  If you haven’t started the fight?  Also be encouraged because I’m a firm believer that once you choose life – God’s there to help.

I’d love to hear your thoughts…

Resources:

If you’re interested in learning more any high powered blender will work.  Check out the info on the health benefits of smoothies from the following links.  I’m still in the school of smoothie learning myself and this is where I started.

One thought on “Choose Life! ~My Journey Part 3

  1. I love this:-) My husband and I have been juicing for over six months and using many of the same food items you listed above. We feel so much better. thanks for sharing. Vickie

Leave a Reply

