Friends ~ My Gift

Taking a side trip in my thoughts today…to a few friends I’m so grateful for.  It’s a gift for my birthday girls.  They’ve been on my heart and in my prayers and although I didn’t know that these thoughts would end up in a blog post, when something strong rises up I’m learning to go with it.

God gave me some pretty awesome ladies to walk with and we all happen to have birthdays in July.  Now this doesn’t mean my other friends aren’t super special (you know I love you all), it’s just that these friends have a common bond with me. We’ve walked and prayed and preached and mentored and helped and sang and given and sharpened each other for the past 10 or so years.  That alone bonds people together, but the fact that we celebrate our birthdays together just makes these particular ladies priceless to me.

Iron Sharpens Iron

Proverbs 27:17 As iron sharpens iron, so a friend sharpens a friend.

Linking arm in arm with these strong women of God has been my lifeline.  They aren’t afraid to say it like it is; I’ve been challenged, pierced, taught, encouraged, loved, and so much more.  These are friends you can call in an instant for prayer and KNOW they have your back.  This past year showed me how true that is.

I won’t name names, but will describe how special they have been and still are to me~

Friend A is a woman that God hooked me up with – she walked with me through some very deep growing times in the Lord.  I knew I needed to find God more than where I was (long story…maybe more on that one later), but didn’t quite know how to get there.  God said – talk to “her” she can help and I did; thus developed a true, forever friend, one I value for her wisdom, honesty and integrity.  Her knowledge of the Word encouraged me to go deeper to find out “what the Word of God says…” about an issue or when my thinking was going in the wrong direction.  You know who you are and I love ya!
 
Friend B is a classy lady – with a kindred heart of worship and a gift of singing the Word of the Lord.  This lady is actually gifted in many areas – talents – and an awesome teacher of the Word.  With her wisdom, she’s helped me learn how to worship and stand strong through many struggles.  Her strength has profoundly changed my life of faith.
 
Friend C is a beautiful and powerful warrior in the Lord.  She can preach with her singing but has such a tender yielded heart before the Lord.  She’s shown much courage under fire and has been an example to me.  I’m singing again because of her and God, of course (another long story).
 
Friend D is someone that I don’t get to see as much now, but one who is like a “mother” in the Lord.  Watching her be a mom to so many women was inspiring.  Her depth of knowledge of the Word of God and belief beyond circumstances was something that ministered to me.  I learn a lot by watching how people live and from this lady I learned a lot.
 
Friend E is the “young’n” in the group.  She’s blooming into a beautiful, graceful, dancer in her worship before the Lord.  SO anointed, it blows me away every time I see her give all of herself and she blesses me. She’s now teaching others to do the same, which shows the maturity in her life.

Grateful

Philippians 1:3-5  I thank my God every time I remember you. In all my prayers for all of you, I always pray with joy because of your partnership in the gospel from the first day until now…

2 Corinthians 9: 15 Thanks be to God for his indescribable gift!

So girls,  I’m grateful for you and how God has used your lives to bless my life.  I pray as you open this ‘gift’ from me that you’ll know how truly you are loved and appreciated.

HAPPY BIRTHDAY!

May God continue to bless and keep you, always~

Leave a Reply

