Standing Your Ground

Refusing to give up is the highest form of spiritual warfare that you can do. The devil doesn’t know what to do with somebody who has dug in and said, “I will not quit!”  ~Joyce Meyer

God continues to lead down this path…so I continue to go deeper to ‘hear’ what He’s saying and teaching me.  I hope the journey helps you as it’s been helping me.  I do say ‘you’ as the collective “you,” since I’ve no idea who, if anyone, will even read this, but it helps me to write these lessons down so they get set deeper in my spirit.  My prayer is that this makes sense and that you stay and stand with me in the battle.

  • Ephesians 6:13-17 (NIV) 13 Therefore put on the full armor of God, so that when the day of evil comes, you may be able to stand your ground, and after you have done everything, to stand. 14 Stand firm then, with the belt of truth buckled around your waist, with the breastplate of righteousness in place, 15 and with your feet fitted with the readiness that comes from the gospel of peace. 16 In addition to all this, take up the shield of faith, with which you can extinguish all the flaming arrows of the evil one. 17 Take the helmet of salvation and the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God.

The Battle Begins

I should know this by now, but it always sneaks up when least expected.  It’s the ‘testing’ after the declaration; that time when you’ve put out there what you believe, are learning, putting into practice, etc., and then “ba-boom” the battle begins. Maybe I’m the only one, but I doubt it.

I was listening to Joyce Meyer recently and what she said so resonated with my life right now…You gotta be a pit bull in the Spirit! When it comes to the devil, you better be like…I’m gonna take hold of what is mine thru Christ and I AM NOT GONNA LET GO!”  That’s the standing I’m talking about.

It’s when I go through difficult times, when the testing comes and circumstances surrounding me are SO contrary to where I want to be or to what I’m believing for, that the battle is the fiercest and when my soul would rather run and hide.  That’s exactly when I have to stand and use the tools I’ve been given – that armor, standing in my place as a daughter of God instead of running away in fear.

The thing is…I don’t see myself as this warrior… at least until recently.

Worshipper or Warrior?

Have you ever thought of yourself as a warrior?  When I worship, I see myself in a rather ethereal long white flowing robe dancing before the Lord abandoned – with all I am.  I don’t see myself standing straight, alert, in a suite of armor, sword in hand, shield lifted high – ready to do battle with the enemy of my soul who is trying to throw me off course, trying to steal, kill & destroy…  Lately though, God is showing me that…

BOTH are true and BOTH are worship that pleases Him.

My times are in His hands and it’s now time to do battle.  Battle in the Spirit for the answers I’m seeking, the direction I’m asking for, the wisdom I’m believing for – even writing this blog is a battle I’m waging against insecurities deeply engrained within me.  I can and will no longer give the enemy any ground without a fight.  It’s not a comfortable place, but a necessary place.

Why necessary?  Because, either way, worshipper or warrior, I’m standing – taking ground back.  The enemy of my soul wants to stop my worship, derail my focus from God, and THAT is the ground I won’t give back.  Refusing to let go of MY place in God, that authority I’ve been given to wage war.

  • Warring for my husband
  • Warring for my son’s
  • Warring for provision, protection, and promotion!
  • Warring to keep standing in the face of fear
  • Warring to believe who God says I am
  • Warring NOT to fall back into old habits of worry, doubt…unbelief
  • Warring to continue the journey, to grow, learn, be diligent
  • …oh and definitely warring to NOT GAIN ANY WEIGHT BACK! (just had to stick that one in there)

Battle Position

Worship is the best possible battle position, and whether in complete abandon or as a fierce warrior, it’s a “spiritual” armor I wear.   Armor as a long flowing white “Robe of Righteousness” or armor with the “Breastplate of Righteous, the Helmet of Salvation, the Sword of the Spirit in hand, lifting high the Shield of Faith;” both suits of armor are spiritual and both are in Christ!

Taking my place in Christ is standing in His authority, His strength, His anointing, His power, His might.  He won that place for me and He fights the battle for me.  My position is to stand in Him.

  • Isaiah 12:2-3 (AMP) 2. Behold, God, my salvation! I will trust and not be afraid, for the Lord God is my strength and song; yes, He has become my salvation.  3. Therefore with joy will you draw water from the wells of salvation.

Leading the Way

In the Old Testament, the Levitical Priests would be at the head of the armies of God, playing their instruments, walking before the Ark of the Covenant (the Presence).  They didn’t carry swords, but harps and horns, declaring that God was leading His army into victory – Worshipping!  Two of my favorites are when the wall of Jericho fell and when King Jehoshaphat led the people of Israel out to do battle with the armies who were coming to attack.

Wall of Jericho – Judges 6

2 Then the Lord said to Joshua, “See, I have delivered Jericho into your hands, along with its king and its fighting men. 3 March around the city once with all the armed men. Do this for six days. 4 Have seven priests carry trumpets of rams’ horns in front of the ark. On the seventh day, march around the city seven times, with the priests blowing the trumpets. 5 When you hear them sound a long blast on the trumpets, have the whole army give a loud shout; then the wall of the city will collapse and the army will go up, everyone straight in.” …

15 On the seventh day, they got up at daybreak and marched around the city seven times in the same manner, except that on that day they circled the city seven times. 16 The seventh time around, when the priests sounded the trumpet blast, Joshua commanded the army, “Shout! For the Lord has given you the city! 20 When the trumpets sounded, the army shouted, and at the sound of the trumpet, when the men gave a loud shout, the wall collapsed; so everyone charged straight in, and they took the city.

King Jehoshaphat – Chronicles 20

 17 You shall not need to fight in this battle; take your positions, standstill, and see the deliverance of the Lord [Who is] with you, O Judah and Jerusalem. Fear not nor be dismayed. Tomorrow go out against them, for the Lord is with you. 18 And Jehoshaphat bowed his head with his face to the ground, and all Judah and the inhabitants of Jerusalem fell down before the Lord, worshiping Him. 19 And some Levites of the Kohathites and Korahites stood up to praise the Lord, the God of Israel, with a very loud voice.  …

22. And when they began to sing and to praise, the Lord set ambushments against the men of Ammon, Moab, and Mount Seir who had come against Judah, and they were [self-] slaughtered; 23. For [suspecting betrayal] the men of Ammon and Moab rose against those of Mount Seir, utterly destroying them. And when they had made an end of the men of Seir, they all helped to destroy one another. 24 And when Judah came to the watchtower of the wilderness, they looked at the multitude, and behold, they were dead bodies fallen to the earth, and none had escaped! 25  When Jehoshaphat and his people came to take the spoil, they found among them much cattle, goods, garments, and precious things which they took for themselves, more than they could carry away, so much they were three days in gathering the spoil.

They never even had to fight!  God did it all! Now that’s a battle outcome I want!

Declaration

So I’m declaring  ~ again

  • I’m a worshipper AND a warrior!
  • I’m standing my ground ‘in Christ’ and it’s a place of worship AND a place of battle!
  • I’m refusing to give in!

SHEEERRAH!!! …some will get that *wink*

4 thoughts on “Standing Your Ground

  1. Ah, Carol. How you encourage me. What a gift you have! Thank you for sharing these awesome words with us. I understand being a warrior and a worshipper. I also understand taking a stand against the devil in the power and might of Christ. Such an blest way to live. Thank you for standing with our family in prayer for Laura. And we do stand. We won’t give the devil an inch of ground. We will overcome this battle by the Blood of the Lamb and the word of our testimony. Thanks again for sharing. Love you,
    Joyce your cuzz

    • Yes Joyce… Standing for Laura!!! He made her original heart…the enemy may have tried to damage it, but God gave her another one. He can do that again – He holds her heart in His Mighty Hand! HALLELUJAH…that made me jump. 🙂 Love you cuz… (((BIG HUG))) Hope to some day give you one in person!

  2. How I love your heart Carol! I wish I could bring you out here for a conference – you & I would just teach these women how to fight, stand, cry out & sing — in worship!!! What a time we would have putting that devil out of their lives for good! — I am in exactly the same place with my Battle List… were you reading my mind?? LOL – I will stand with you! Back to back, swords out! Let’s be the kind of warrior worship women that set the devil to running even before our feet hit the ground every morning! 🙂 -JK

    • Wow Joy…that would be something to come over there. Such an adventure! My spirit will have to do for now. 😉

      …”I will stand with you! Back to back, swords out! Let’s be the kind of warrior worship women that set the devil to running even before our feet hit the ground every morning!” I LOVE THAT PICTURE GIRL!!! Warrior women in worship! That’s a title, isn’t it? HAHA!

      🙂 CT

Leave a Reply

