Fighting the Good Fight

When ‘life’ happens, unexpected circumstances, things that don’t go the way you want, or you think God isn’t answering when you’re standing on a promise or belief…what do you do?  I’ve had a few of those lately.  If you’re like me, still in the faith school of hard knocks and being honest, the first thing my natural mind does is head down a path of worry, wonder and doubt.  STOP!

Retraining my mind the past 10+ years has been my “good fight of faith,” a battle zone, to say the least.  My history has been one of worry vs. faith, wondering vs. believing, wavering vs. standing; changing this mindset has, and will probably be, a lifelong battle.  Not that there haven’t been definite victories along the way.  I can confidentially say that because I’ve overcome SO MUCH.  Looking back – things that used to trip me up are peanuts now, I don’t even blink at them so THANK GOD I know I’m making progress.

One of God’s most special gifts to me is when He has me look back to see what He has done in my life – all the milestones, victories, the “how did I get here” moments.  It is at that time that I SEE with clear vision His plan unfolding in me.  When you’re in the moment and the vision is clouded by circumstances beyond your control, or you’re in the emotional upheaval, it’s so hard to SEE anything good.  But when you’re able to look back, you see how far you’ve come, how God led you through that place.  Then understanding comes.

Going back to fighting the good fight, if you’re like me and need a mindset change, something I read just today – the thing that got me writing – from my favorite devotional ‘Jesus Calling’ may help you like it did for me:

“May 27: SEEK MY FACE at the beginning of your day.  This practice enables you to “put Me on” and “wear Me” throughout the day…the sooner you “put Me on” by communicating with Me, the better prepared you are for whatever comes your way.  To “wear Me” is essentially to have My mind: to think My thoughts.  Ask the Holy Spirit to control your thinking; be transformed by this renewal within you…”

  • Romans 13:14 But clothe yourself with the Lord Jesus Christ (the Messiah), and make no provision for [indulging] the flesh [put a stop to thinking about the evil cravings of your physical nature] to [gratify its] desires…

This is TRULY fighting the good fight…  Remembering what God says about a thing, not what the flesh will gravitate to.  It’s so easy to ‘go there’ in the natural mind; reigning in that thinking and turning back to the Face of God, who is the author of our faith in the first place, and saying “what do You say Father?” or “what is the truth here?” is grabbing hold of and casting down the vain imaginations…those thoughts…and replacing them with His Truth.  Clothing my mind with His Mind, His Thoughts, releases His Creative Power to change the mind He originally created in the first place.  What a place of dwelling. A resting place…

A place of PEACE in the midst of the storm~

Fighting back means “re” learning:

  • faith talking vs. doubting (what I speak in a circumstance)
  • faith acting vs. wondering where God is (what I need to do)
  • faith standing on the SOLID ROCK – THE WORD (even in a storm) vs. sinking on the sandy shore

“On Christ the Solid Rock I Stand…

all other ground is sinking sand…”

These are just my thoughts today…  I’m still fighting.  If you’re like me, then join me in this daily, sometimes hourly fight.  Don’t let your mind win over – keep fighting, no matter how it feels.  Believe me I know how hard it can be, but when the victories come, they are so sweet.

References: Romans 13:14; 2 Corinthians 10:5; Isaiah 55:8-11; Philippians 3:12-14
Leave a Reply

